#Cybils2020 What About Worms!? Book Review

What About Worms!? by Ryan T. Higgins is a Mo Willems Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! book. I LOVE THESE BOOKS.

Tiger is not afraid of anything…except worms…he is really scared of worms. And, come to find out, worms are scared of tigers. Except for this particular tiger, who they believe is their friend. Some confusion leads to the worms wanting to give Tiger a hug. You’ll have to read the book to learn the details.

Great for beginning readers – pair with all the worm and tiger books. Introduce children to Elephant & Piggie and the other books in the Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! series.

Download activity sheets here: https://books.disney.com/book/what-about-worms/

Posted in Cybils | Leave a comment

#Cybils2020 See the Cat Book Review

See the Cat: Three Stories About a Dog by David LaRochelle; illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka is a beginning reader along the lines of the Dog and Bear books by Laura Vaccaro Seeger. A great interactive tale that begs for “call and response” in storytime.

Check out the author’s website for a creative drawing sheet, a mini-book for YOU to complete, and a printable board game. https://davidlarochelle.com/chbooks/bk_seethecat.html

One other idea – Create a reader’s theater with dog, cat, snake, etc. masks

Posted in Cybils | Leave a comment

#Cybils2020 The Best Seat in First Grade Book Review

The Best Seat in First Grade by Katharine Kenah; illustrated by Abby Carter is such a fun book. It is the first day of first grade and Sam is so excited to share that his elephant had a baby! Of course, everyone finds it hard to believe that Sam has an actual elephant. Throughout the book, Sam shares facts about his elephant, and still no one really believes that he has one. Until the class field trip to the zoo.

Great beginning reader book to share during a unit about the zoo, animals, or careers.

Easy art extension activity – have your students create a clay zoo like the students do in the book.

Posted in Cybils | Leave a comment

#Cybils2020 Ants Don’t Wear Pants Book Review

Ants Don’t Wear Pants by Kevin McCloskey is a “Giggle and Learn” book from Toon Books. I love Toon Books. Great intro to comics and this series is not only silly, but a great way to learn facts. This one is about ants…others in the series are about fish, worms, pigeons, and snails.

Make sure you explore Toon’s website – lots of resources and freebies! https://www.toon-books.com/

Posted in Book Review, Cybils | Leave a comment

#Cybils2020 Little Penguin and the Mysterious Object Book Review

Little Penguin and the Mysterious Object by Tadgh Bentley is a fun book for any beginning reader. A bicycle has somehow washed up where the penguins live and they try to figure out what it is…because, of course, penguins do not know anything about bicycles! Little readers will probably get a giggle or two out of this book. Part of a series.

Pair with any penguin book (there are lots out there)!

And, check out these easy penguin crafts: https://www.redtedart.com/easy-penguin-crafts-for-kids/

Posted in Book Review, Cybils | Leave a comment

#Cybils2020 – Book Review – Stella Endicott and the Anything-Is-Possible Poem

Stella Endicott and the Anything-Is-Possible Poem by Kate DiCamillo is just what you would expect it to be. Funny, sweet, and beautifully worded. Readers who love DiCamillo, Mercy Watson, and Tales from Deckawoo Drive are sure to enjoy this book in the series. An early chapter book.

Things to do while reading – write poetry, talk about what it means to be a good friend, eat buttered toast.

Explore the Mercy Watson website here https://www.mercywatson.com/

Check out Kate DiCamillo’s website here https://www.katedicamillo.com/index.html

Posted in Cybils | Leave a comment

#Cybils2020 – Book Review – Charlie & Mouse Outdoors

Charlie and Mouse are brothers and young readers will enjoy listening to their adventures. In Charlie & Mouse Outdoors, the family goes on a camping trip. Perfect for reading together before your own camping trip! If you don’t like camping or would rather not – think about “camping” in your living room! Put up a tent, get a fire going in the fireplace and read this book. You could even bake S’mores in the oven!

Very much along the lines of stories like Henry & Mudge. A delightful series of books about everyday life.

Find a list of Snyder’s books here: http://laurelsnyder.com/?page_id=3

Check out the Teaching Guide for the first Charlie & Mouse here: http://www.unleashingreaders.com/?p=12140

Posted in Cybils | Leave a comment

Update AND #Cybils2020 Book Review: Tip and Tucker Paw Painters

First – HI!

Quick Post-Hot Mess Storytime update – Fall 2020 has flown by in a FLASH. I am still doing all the things – teaching at UofSC; coordinating CRE; being a mom; being a wife; being a daughter; being a PhD student. 5 year old went back to school face-to-face this summer and has been happy to be back. Now that the holidays are here, she is back home until January. Maybe Hot Mess Storytime will be back, maybe not.

But, you know what is back?

CYBILS! I am always so excited to be a part of Cybils again. Not sure what that is? Check it out here: http://www.cybils.com/

This year, I am a panelist for Early Readers/Early Chapter Books. Now that I’ve started reading them, it’s time for reviews!

Tip and Tucker by Ann Ingalls and Sue Lowell Gallion; illustrated by André Ceolin is a beginning reader series. I read Tip and Tucker Paw Painters for Cybils and your Kindergarten – 1st grade friends will enjoy this title. Not only will they be able to read it on their own (with some help), they will enjoy the cute, colorful illustrations. There are natural story extensions too. The kids in the book paint with marbles and build a rocket ship. Both very simple to do with your own readers. Check out https://artfulparent.com/marble-painting-for-kids/ for marble painting ideas and for a twist on building a cardboard rocket ship, look at this site https://littlebinsforlittlehands.com/how-to-make-a-cardboard-box-rocket-ship/

Pair with Mouse Paint by Walsh for a whole art/mouse themed lesson (I do love a theme)!

VBF

Posted in Cybils | Leave a comment

#COVID-19 Storytime! Week 10 – LAST ONE – I Need a New Butt!

In case you missed it – during isolation for COVID, I was doing STORYTIME in a closed group on FB (if you are interested in checking it out, you can request to join the group here – https://www.facebook.com/groups/495801317994142/). But, all good things must come to an end and I am no longer doing those storytimes. I do want to share what we did, however, so that you can use these ideas in your own programming.

A note about this storytime…I did this for fun with my 5 year old and to continue to share storytime, lesson tips and ideas with my library world. While I hope viewers can got some tips on conducting a read aloud, I do not necessarily consider it “best practice.” Watch a few and you’ll see why 😉

Each week, I focused on an author, illustrator, or theme. I paired each book with an activity and snack. Sharing the books I read and the activities I suggest here. All of these ideas can be used in a face to face storytime or in your own virtual storytime.

WEEK 1 – MO WILLIAMS

WEEK 2 – KWAME ALEXANDER

WEEK 3 – TODD PARR

WEEK 4 – PIGS

WEEK 5 – FLAMINGOS

WEEK 6 – RABBITS

WEEK 7 – ADAM REX

WEEK 8 – CHRISTIAN ROBINSON

WEEK 9 – The Serious Goose (at this point, I started doing one storytime a week)

WEEK 10 – LAST ONE! – I Need a New Butt

Book I Need a New Butt by Dawn McMillan; illustrated by Ross Kinnaird https://www.amazon.com/Need-New-Butt-Dawn-McMillan/dp/0486787990
Craft – Decorate paper undies.
Snack – Anything with chocolate chips (they look like poop! LOL!)

Posted in COVID19, Storytime | Leave a comment

#COVID-19 Storytime! Week 9 – The Serious Goose!

In case you missed it – during isolation for COVID, I was doing STORYTIME in a closed group on FB (if you are interested in checking it out, you can request to join the group here – https://www.facebook.com/groups/495801317994142/). But, all good things must come to an end and I am no longer doing those storytimes. I do want to share what we did, however, so that you can use these ideas in your own programming.

A note about this storytime…I did this for fun with my 5 year old and to continue to share storytime, lesson tips and ideas with my library world. While I hope viewers can got some tips on conducting a read aloud, I do not necessarily consider it “best practice.” Watch a few and you’ll see why 😉

Each week, I focused on an author, illustrator, or theme. I paired each book with an activity and snack. Sharing the books I read and the activities I suggest here. All of these ideas can be used in a face to face storytime or in your own virtual storytime.

WEEK 1 – MO WILLIAMS

WEEK 2 – KWAME ALEXANDER

WEEK 3 – TODD PARR

WEEK 4 – PIGS

WEEK 5 – FLAMINGOS

WEEK 6 – RABBITS

WEEK 7 – ADAM REX

WEEK 8 – CHRISTIAN ROBINSON

WEEK 9 – The Serious Goose (at this point, I started doing one storytime a week)

Book The Serious Goose by Jimmy Kimmel https://www.amazon.com/Serious-Goose-Jimmy-Kimmel/dp/0525707751

Craft – Make a goose out of paper plates – like this: http://www.makinglearningfun.com/themepages/GoosePaperPlateCraft.html?fbclid=IwAR0v3hT2EyanV0dNs7br6z-2t13qOPvJwXcMVp2whpstuMsxK5iwnYugOkA

Snack – Berries (because that’s what geese eat!)

Happy reading!

VBF

 

 

Posted in COVID19, Storytime | Leave a comment